Women chat class, women chat race. Women chat.

So yesterday I read this from The Newstatesmen and naturally passed comment on Facebook. Here’s the conversation reprinted. Think of it as a gift from me to you dear reader. Now you too can have a token working class friend to help introduce some perspective on your next liberal whine.

http://www.newstatesman.com/node/146568

Me:
On the same day the liberal media woke up to the fact that the bedroom tax hurts women (yes pretty sure working class women have been saying that for at least a year) we get peak new statesmen self centred whining about how middle class women are the worlds biggest victims of misogyny. No longer acknowledging class is of course not at all harmful to the working classes at the bottom of the pile only those women not quite secure enough to hire both a nanny and cleaner and not be criticised for it, only rich enough for a cleaner and a healthy dose of guilt.
Cry me a fucking river.

Louise:
Feminists need to stop making the comparison to racism. It makes them sound utterly fucking ridiculous. I don’t know how anyone can say “racism is socially unacceptable” when UKIP won another fucking seat yesterday. I do have some sympathy for the argument about the term “middle class women” being used as a silencing tactic. I’ve seen it applied to far too many gender-critical working class women and those living in poverty in order to shut them up. That’s not to say that I haven’t seen middle class women engaged in behaviour/language that others and silences working class women because I see that a lot. Ignoring class analysis within the feminist movement whilst identifying women as a class in terms of oppression is a spectacular own goal for the patriarchy

Me:
Exactly. And yes it happens. I’ve been called a “typical middle class cis white feminist” which is obvs bollocks (if it isn’t can someone give me a bit of that money that comes from being somewhere other than the bottom of the socio-economic pile) yet this still pissed me off. If feminists are going to finally address class and how new labours lies hurt society it needs to be about how the lie of all middle class erased a proud working class tradition and left a political void, not about how it mocks nice middle class women for reading niche magazines.

Louise:
You should write a response for your blog 🙂

Me:
I don’t think so, I don’t have the energy to engage with most feminists now. Nothing changes. I just need to play the game, keep my head down and escape where I’m at now. Once I have a salary and something other than debts to my name than I can engage in politics and feminism on anything more than a very small grass roots level. And you know how these things work, anyone says anything against Helen Lewis and her merry band of men (+ the handful of women who work there too) and we’re the bullies, attacking poor sad women who are at home crying about being bullied. I get enough of that woe is me victimhood as shield from my ex!

Sonia:
Yes! PLEASE STOP using racism as the default comparison. It drives me nuts! Ffs like racism is over???!!!!! And yes agree with the comments on class.

Me:
I’ve said this before Sonia. I was probs guilty of doing it myself in the past and I had to listen and learn and apologise.

Sonia:
I’ve seen that from you lately Sian but only maybe two or three others. Let’s hope they hear us and follow suit!

Woman as subject:
Ha ha ha, poor middle class woman, she has it so hard 😦 I say this as someone who used to be working class but is now pretty solidly middle class. Social mobility means my life is infinitely better and I never feel guilty about it because I know how shit it is being poor.

Me:
Exactly and nor should you feel guilty! Women who work hard to escape poverty should love it, you bloody earned it!

One thought on “Women chat class, women chat race. Women chat.

Leave a Reply

